• Contact Us
  • Translate
  • Follow:
  • Accessibility
Home > Municipal Guide > Mayor and Council > Council Definition

Council Definition

The governing body of the Municipality of Central Huron is the Council. It consists of Mayor, Deputy Mayor and three Councillors from each of the two Wards. The ratepayers of the Municipality elect the Members of Council for a four-year term of office. Having both legislative and executive responsibilities, Council deals with matters that require policy direction, bylaws or bylaw amendments and responses or actions to pertinent issues.

Regular Council Meetings are held on the First and Third Monday of every month at 7:00 p.m. Committee of the Whole meetings are held on the second Monday of every month. If you wish to address Council at a Council Meeting, please contact the Clerk’s office in writing before 12:00 noon the Wednesday prior to the meeting.

As always, Council is happy to hear comments from our ratepayers.

January 12, 2015 Closed Meeting Investigation - Ombudsman Report

Council Members

2014-2018 Council 

Back Row - Left to right: 
Alison Lobb, Burkhard Metzger, Alex Westerhout, Dan Colquhoun, Genny Smith

Front Row - Left to Right: 
Dave Jewitt, Jim Ginn, Marg Anderson

Central Huron • 519-482-3997 • Contact Us